KEMSA Chronicle - Service chronicles

The service chronicles listed below were published in the Summer 2020 issue of the KEMSA Chronicle magazine. If you would like to submit news from your service for publication in the magazine and on this website, view information about submitting your news here.


Butler County EMS

March 4, 2020, Butler County EMS received the first annual “National Safety in EMS Award,” presented by the National EMS Safety Council and this year’s sponsor REV Group Inc. Director Frank Williams and Public Outreach and Education Director Stuart Funk accepted the Award on behalf of Butler County EMS in Tampa, Fla. at the 2020 EMS Today Conference. Butler County EMS was recognized for its strides in safety for the public, patients, staff, and vehicles. The National EMS Safety Council is a coalition of 15 national EMS and safety organizations committed to ensuring that patients receive emergency and mobile healthcare with the highest standards of safety and promoting a safe and healthy work environment for all EMS practitioners.

In January, the Leadership team and crew members gathered to start a Strategic Planning process. This included several business processes to plan the future of Butler County EMS. During this ongoing planning, documentation, implementation and review, the Vision 20/20 team focused on key areas of the mission, vision, and values statements. The results brought back a previous value focus known as P.R.I.D.E (Professional, Ready, Innovative, Dedicated and Excellent.) With this guiding their plan, strategic objectives and associated goals of A Progressive Culture of Safety, Team-Member Enrichment, Stewardship of Community Resources, and High-Quality Patient Care are being implemented.

Butler County EMS is working with local long-term healthcare facilities to open the lines of communication and provide them with training on an information packet put together by Paramedic Tamara King. Director Frank Williams and Quality Improvement Director Dillon McArthur have met with all long-term care facilities in the county in an effort to improve relationships, clear up misunderstandings, and enhance teamwork to improve patient care. This packet has improved continuation of patient care for those living in long-term facilities, ensuring BCEMS has the proper clinical information, reference information for questions, and documented checklists ready when EMS arrives at the patient’s bedside. This helps prevent unnecessary delays for emergent patients. The packet consists of a cover page and a checklist of required paperwork. The documentation is then available for EMS review and communication with the receiving hospitals.

Butler County EMS has introduced a process to limit the volume of non-emergent and return home transfers from long-term health care facilities between the hours of 11 pm – 6 am. The process has helped to preserve safety by managing EMS crew fatigue and increased EMS availability to pre-hospital emergency care in Butler County by reducing the response time. Supervisors pre-screen return home and non-emergent transfers for medical necessity based on the screening and the status of the fleet, and the supervisor will delay the request and schedule these transfers between 6 am to 11 pm.

Lastly, BCEMS would like to welcome aboard the following new team members to our EMS Family in 2020: Nicole Suljak, EMT; Philip Mathiowetz, paramedic; and Brittany Percival, EMT.

    KEMSA • 6021 SW 29th St., Ste. A PMB 359 • Topeka, KS 66614 • Phone: 785-580-3459
    Copyright © Kansas Emergency Medical Services Association

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software